top of page

New Zealand Barefoot Team Named!

The countdown is officially on for the 2022 Oceania Water Ski and Wakeboard Championships! Barefoot Team New Zealand is set to fly out on Monday 14th November to compete in Mulwala, Australia alongside the Water ski, Wakeboard and Ski Racing disciplines. The tournament runs from Thursday 17th November – Sunday 20th November as skiers from New Zealand and Australia battle it out in all the water sport disciplines.

Saturday 15th October marked decision day as the New Zealand Barefoot Club held its last selection tournament for the 15-member team set to compete in the championships. Lake Inspiration in Otaki put on a fantastic day for the skiers to showcase their skills to the selection committee.

After a full day of skiing, inclusive of 3 “pick n choose” rounds (slalom or tricks) and 2 rounds of Jump we are proud to name the team that will represent New Zealand in Barefoot Water skiing at the 2022 Oceania Water ski and Wakeboard Championships:

Open Team:

Sarah Linton

Georgia Groen

Fred Groen

Ryan Groen

Under 23 Team

William Leigh

Junior Team

Jack Mathis

Charlotte McGuire

Madi Bourke

James McGuire

Mitchell Rush (R)

Senior Team

Grayson Cooper

Grant Plumber

Matt Slow

John McTaggart

Brent Wright (R)

Team Managers: Craig Scott, Ross Linton

Officials: Rob Groen (Judge), Claire Mowday (Scorer)

A huge congratulations to all our skiers, especially to the 10 skiers representing New Zealand for the first time. We wish you all the best of luck and look forward to the results.

Lets go Skiwis!

775 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page